©XSIBackup-Free: Free Backup Software for ©VMWare ©ESXi

Forum ©XSIBackup: ©VMWare ©ESXi Backup Software


You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-24 10:55:14

Robertkwild
Member
Registered: 2020-05-25
Posts: 33

has it updated crontab? (solved)

hi all,

i issued a "./xsibackup --update-cron" as i changed when a job started in "vi conf/root-crontab"

The root user crontab has been succesfully updated
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is the current content of the root crontab
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#min hour day mon dow command
1    1    *   *   *   /sbin/tmpwatch.py
1    *    *   *   *   /sbin/auto-backup.sh
0    *    *   *   *   /usr/lib/vmware/vmksummary/log-heartbeat.py
*/5  *    *   *   *   /bin/hostd-probe.sh ++group=host/vim/vmvisor/hostd-probe/stats/sh
00   1    *   *   *   localcli storage core device purge
00 02 * * * /vmfs/volumes/datastore1/XSIBackup-Free/jobs/001 # Added by XSIBackup
00 01 * * * /vmfs/volumes/datastore1/XSIBackup-Free/jobs/002 # Added by XSIBackup
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Current number of crond instances is 1, service seems to be running O.K.

job 002, i changed from running from 3 to 1

how come it says only 1 crond instance as surely in the root crontab its 7?

thanks,
rob

Offline

#2 2021-05-25 11:55:01

kd.gundermann
Member
Registered: 2018-02-27
Posts: 20

Re: has it updated crontab? (solved)

Hi rob,

crond is the process who looks into the crontabs and starts the processes according to the defined schedules.
There is only ONE crond process needed to do this work, so everything is ok.

See also: https://linux.die.net/man/8/crond

Offline

#3 2021-05-25 15:59:27

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,778

Re: has it updated crontab? (solved)

As Gundermann stated, there only one crond process, although there might me multiple jobs.

I would add that what you are doing is not very clean. You are runnign some job at 1:00 am everyday, then another one at 2:00
How do your know if first job is done when the second one is triggered?

Depending on the available resources that can cause your server to get clogged and it will surely do most of the times if your 10:00 h. job takes more than expected.

To avoid that kind of uncertainty (uncertainties is the matter Murphy's Law is made of), just chain your jobs by wrapping them in another job and call that other wrapping job instead. That way the first job will be launched and whenever it ends the second one will commence.

Offline

#4 2021-06-23 09:22:11

Robertkwild
Member
Registered: 2020-05-25
Posts: 33

Re: has it updated crontab? (solved)

really sorry for the long delay guys,

i have noticed the --on-success is exclusive to xsibackup pro, i just have the free version

Offline

#5 2021-06-23 09:33:28

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,778

Re: has it updated crontab? (solved)

You don't need it, use bash features to chain jobs depending on the outcome.

Offline

#6 2021-06-23 17:57:57

Robertkwild
Member
Registered: 2020-05-25
Posts: 33

Re: has it updated crontab? (solved)

so you mean if last job eq o then blah blah blah...?

Offline

#7 2021-06-24 06:34:33

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,778

Re: has it updated crontab? (solved)

(c)XSIBackup Classic is based in scripts, use at your will.

./xsibackup ... && do something || whatever

Offline

#8 2021-08-31 15:07:55

Robertkwild
Member
Registered: 2020-05-25
Posts: 33

Re: has it updated crontab? (solved)

i found out doing the double pipe works ||, the && doesnt

is the || the same as the && ie if last command was succesful do the other command?

Offline

#9 2021-09-01 12:11:19

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,778

Re: has it updated crontab? (solved)

Well, that syntax is not under discussion. Maybe you need to know why and which of the "AND" expressions is failing.
Interesting post on the use of && and ||

Offline

Board footer