#1 2019-02-12 17:58:53

Dennis
Member
Registered: 2019-02-12
Posts: 12

Problem: Cannot specify source datastore

E.g., need to backup VMs from datastoreA/vm/* to clonof_datastoreA/vm/* and  datastoreB/vm/* to cloneof_datastoreB/vm/*
            Each datastore has a varying amount of vms that we cannot always specify with "--backup-vms” since this would be very tedious to change all the time.
            We tried expressions but there is no reference to any source datastore.
            Do you have a solution for this?

Offline

#2 2019-02-12 19:57:30

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,362

Re: Problem: Cannot specify source datastore

It's a lot easier than that, use --backup-type=running or --backup-type=all
Please, read the Man Page before asking for help.
https://33hops.com/xsibackup-help-man-page.html

Offline

#3 2019-02-12 21:15:57

Dennis
Member
Registered: 2019-02-12
Posts: 12

Re: Problem: Cannot specify source datastore

Yes; of course, we had read the man page; however, we cannot find an appropriate solution.

To repeat myself, it is not an issue of all / running / custom!

These VMs reside on multiple datastores and we wish to backup from each one uniquely to another datastore. To simplifly: storeA to storeC and storeB to storeD. --- without having to specify the names or expressions since that is too tedious and too much work to change all the time.

Offline

#4 2019-02-14 16:51:08

Dennis
Member
Registered: 2019-02-12
Posts: 12

Re: Problem: Cannot specify source datastore

Still waiting...

Offline

#5 2019-02-15 09:52:10

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,362

Re: Problem: Cannot specify source datastore

If you used a proper naming convention, you would not need to change regular expressions all the time. Your problem is that you are trying to accomplish an exigent goal with a poor design.

Just rename your VMs so that they reflect the DS they are sitting at in their name and use a regular expression.

That "Still waiting..." is out of place. I don't know if you are aware of the fact that you are requesting others to offer you some advice for free. So, don't be that picky when it comes to ask for help that you are not entitled to receive.

Offline

#6 2019-02-15 15:58:22

Dennis
Member
Registered: 2019-02-12
Posts: 12

Re: Problem: Cannot specify source datastore

Thanks for your friendly answer.

Offline

Board footer