#1 2018-12-22 15:23:29

rzanni
Member
Registered: 2018-12-22
Posts: 3

Chained Jobs configured from GUI not working

Hi

I've configured 6 chained jobs in the GUI but after running the first one it doesn't continue with the second one or any of them, it just stops.

Having tried to run them a couple of times I realized that in the status email I received when the first job was done, it said:

Chained backup --on-error: backupid-
Chained backup --on-success: backupid-

Notice there is no backup Id

Then I edited the first Job and it was like this (all the others were the same):

--backup-id=00001 \
--description="Backup Linux" \
--on-success=""backupId->00002"" \
--on-error=""backupId->00002"" \
--exec=yes >> "/vmfs/volumes/datastore1/xsi-dir/var/logs/xsibackup.log"

And there was the problem. Somehow the GUI assigns the on-success an on-error parameters to a value with a two double quotes at the beginning and at the end, so that's why I guess when the application reads these 2 parameters as empty (or blank or null or anything without a value)

After changing the job to this (and all the others as well), the problem was solved:

--on-success="backupId->00002" \
--on-error="backupId->00002" \

I hope they fix this bug in a new release soon.

Offline

#2 2018-12-23 17:32:08

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,363

Re: Chained Jobs configured from GUI not working

Backup Ids must be three digit numeric strings from 000 to 999

Offline

#3 2018-12-23 20:18:34

rzanni
Member
Registered: 2018-12-22
Posts: 3

Re: Chained Jobs configured from GUI not working

In that case the application should only accept 3 digits and not 6 digits.

I tried with 3 digits and the application also writes the job with the duplicated double quotes.

Anyway it works with 3 or 6 digits BUT removing manually the duplicated double quotes.

Offline

#4 2018-12-24 12:26:04

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,363

Re: Chained Jobs configured from GUI not working

The application does indeed check the backup Id is three digits long, maybe you are using some older release.
We'll check and eventually correct any quotes being doubled issue.
Thank you for your feedback.

Offline

#5 2018-12-24 13:10:20

rzanni
Member
Registered: 2018-12-22
Posts: 3

Re: Chained Jobs configured from GUI not working

From src/version file:

APPVER="11.1.9"
APPCOM="(c) VMWARE ESXi Hypervisor"
borgversions="1.1.1"

I just downloaded and installed last friday

Offline

#6 2019-01-03 08:21:48

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,363

Re: Chained Jobs configured from GUI not working

The double quote issue will be addressed in 11.2.1 as well as the three digit format check. You were right in that it's not checked in the GUI, sorry about the misinformation. It is stated in the Man Page though.

Offline

Board footer