©XSIBackup-Free: Free Backup Software for ©VMWare ©ESXi

Forum ©XSIBackup: ©VMWare ©ESXi Backup Software


You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-14 13:20:27

Robertkwild
Member
Registered: 2020-05-25
Posts: 38

backup room option

hi all,

i have a hard drive thats 8TB but when i look at the array size i get this,

Array Size : 7807186944 (7445.51 GiB 7994.56 GB)

so should i use for option "--backup-room" 8000 or 7994?

thanks,
rob

Last edited by Robertkwild (2022-11-14 13:23:44)

Offline

#2 2022-11-14 18:19:09

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,983

Re: backup room option

We aren't really getting the question.
Rely on the real size of your storage, not the expected one.

Offline

#3 2022-11-18 09:52:35

Robertkwild
Member
Registered: 2020-05-25
Posts: 38

Re: backup room option

so if a drive says its 8TB on the box, put that in the "--backup-room" and not the real size ie 7450.5806 (i got the real size from the link below)

http://www.endmemo.com/data/diskcapacity.php

Offline

#4 2022-11-19 16:57:51

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,983

Re: backup room option

It does not matter what the box says. The real size of the disk if what your system detects. Brands tend to round up sizes for plain commercial reasons.

Offline

#5 2022-11-21 12:49:18

Robertkwild
Member
Registered: 2020-05-25
Posts: 38

Re: backup room option

ok thanks, so just go by what your system says in "df -h" or whatever?

Offline

#6 2022-11-22 20:32:01

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2017-04-21
Posts: 1,983

Re: backup room option

Sure. Just remember that the --backup-room figure is given in GB and to leave some security margin to not fill your disk up.

Offline

Board footer